Vacation in England and France (10/18/2009 – 11/02/2009) 英國+法國旅遊

Uh~ Finally I got a vacation…
England (London, Oxford, Cambridge, Bath)–>France Bretagne (Rennes, Carnac, Quimper, Perros-Guirec, Saint Malo)–>France (Paris, Chantilly, Malmaison, Enghien-les-Bains, Le Vesinet)

In England: London, Oxford, Cambridge, Bath.
In Bretagne region: Rennes, Carnac, Quimper, Perros-Guirec, Saint Malo.
Paris area: Paris, Chantilly, Chateau de Malmaison, Le Vesinet, Enghine-les-Bains.
London is often mentioned to be one of the cities in the world that you should go at least once, so there I am, getting ready to visit it for the first time. Other than London, I planned to visit Oxford, Cambridge, and Bath.

Bretagne is probably a bit foreign for some people, since it’s not the most popular tourist place regardless of its stunning and peaceful countrysides. However, I’ve known it ever since I read my complete Maurice Leblanc’s Arsene Lupin series during my childhood, and one of the stories, L’ile aux trente cercueils (The Island of 30 Coffins), took place in Bretagne. Most cities in Bretagne are located along the coast of the pennisula, and I picked up several of them to visit–Rennes, Carnac, Quimper, Perros Guirec, and Saint Malo.

As for Paris–this is my 3rd time visiting it. Thus in addition to Paris city center, I decided to go to some suburbs–Chantilly, Malmaison, Le Vesinet, and Enghien-les-bains. There is that famous Chantilly castle said to "float" on a lake, and as being a "chateau-lover," I had to visit it no matter what. City of Ruiel de Malmaison is where Chateau de Malmaison locates, in which Josephine Bonaparte resided and adored. Le Vesinet and Enghien-les-Bains are backgrounds for another 2 Arsene Lupin stories–La Cagliostro se venge (The Revenge of The Countess of Cagliostro), and Le Bouchon de cristal (The Crystal Stopper).

There I had about 5 days to get ready before I hopped into another journey…good thing I still got my lovely Eslite bookstore, trustworthy TomTom GPS system, omnipotent Google, and very helpful friend…

This entry was posted in England 英國, France 法國, Travel 旅遊. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vacation in England and France (10/18/2009 – 11/02/2009) 英國+法國旅遊

  1. Majo says:

    I think you are an expert in driving in EU now, haha~~ next time if we go together, you drive.. hahahah~~

  2. Pingback: Exploring the Splendour of Italy Part 2 (回味義大利 part 2) | Big Head Cat's Hideout =^ 大頭貓的海島 ^=

  3. Pingback: Remembering the sunshine in Guam (凜冬回想關島暖陽) | Big Head Cat's Hideout =^ 大頭貓的海島 ^=

  4. Pingback: Remembering the sunshine in Guam (凜冬中回想關島暖陽) | Big Head Cat's Hideout =^ 大頭貓的海島 ^=

  5. Pingback: My most precious treasure (富可敵國的寶藏) | Big Head Cat's Hideout =^ 大頭貓的海島 ^=

Leave a Reply

